Easy Salad Dressings for Father’s Day

I’ve been terribly neglectful of my blog. Apologies for all that follow me. My writing sometimes takes a back seat to catering, and that has certainly been busy for me. I’m back this week with some fun ideas to kick off the summer months and and easy dinner for Father’s Day, or any day of the week.

Yes, we are just days away from the Summer Solstice and weeks from celebrating a Revolution. Some times trudging through the dead of winter I never feel like these days will come. Mid-June also is the mark when our Farmers Markets start rolling out the “goods.” We have officially said good-bye to fiddleheads and ramps, which always makes me wistful, but hello to strawberries, garlic scapes, snap and snow peas. (They certainly cushion the blow!)

Strawberries

As I’ve done every year, for the past four, I headed last weekend to the John Jay Homestead to demo at their opening. With me I brought three tasty salad dressings, made in a snap, and tossed with the delicious and fresh greens from I & Me Farm, Cabbage Hill Farm, Do Re Mi Farm and Amawalk Farm.

Lettuce

Honestly, it takes very little to accomplish a fresh salad dressing and I highly encourage you to give it a try. The very simplest is olive oil with vinegar or lemon, seasoned with a few pinches of dry (or fresh) herbs, salt and pepper. Place in a little glass jar (recycled from jam) and give it a few shakes. I know the pre-made stuff from the grocery story is easy, but take a look at the label – they are mostly filled with sodium and sugar. If you can make it fast and easy, why not?

Last Sunday I took a stroll through the Rye Farmers Market as soon as they opened. Try to get to your farmers market early. Special things might sell out quickly, and that would be a shame for you. I stopped at the Newgate Farm table for snap peas and Migliorelli for their spicy rocket arugula. My new find of the week was from Karl Family Farms, a really delicious pork sausage.

Last Sunday night was also the Penguins-Sharks Stanley Cup final and eating dinner early was a must. Fast and easy was the name of the dinner game. Larry fired up the grill and cooked not only the sausage, but grilled a few apricots for dessert. Peaches work incredibly well on the grill, too. Soft and smoky, grilled fruit is really amazing. It is still just a wee bit early for stone fruit, but that’s what makes them so perfect to grill. If they are on the tart side drizzle with a little honey and/or chocolate sauce. Yes, chocolate and fruit is a match made in heaven. And for a little “heaven in a jar” you need to do yourself a favor and find Archaea Organics. I have now tried all variations of their chocolate spread and trail mix. No words …

Grilling apricots  Topping grilled fruit with a delicious chocolate sauce

Father’s Day is today and I’m heading to the Rye Farmer’s Market is just a few hours. Stop by my table for a taste of Karl’s delicious sausage and market panzanella salad. I will there from 10:30 -12:30. Stop by and say hello.

Best husband ever!
Special Father’s Day wishes going out to my Dad and father-in-law. And a very special blanket of love to my husband Larry who makes life go around for me and my step-daughter Elinor. Happy day honey!

Buon Appetito!

French Dijon Vinaigrette

3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
3 tablespoons champagne vinegar or white wine vinegar
½ teaspoon kosher salt, to taste
½ teaspoon pepper, to taste
¼ cup each of avocado (or canola) oil
¼ cup olive oil.

Add all to a glass jar with a lid and shake well. Store in the ‘fridge.

Creamy Balsamic Lemon

2 tablespoons plain yogurt
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
½ teaspoon kosher salt, to taste
½ teaspoon pepper, to taste
½ teaspoon sugar, to taste
¼ cup each of avocado (or canola) oil
¼ cup olive oil

Add all to a glass jar with a lid and shake well. Store in the ‘fridge.

Avocado Goddess Dressing

½ ripe avocado
1 tablespoon of packed parsley leaves
Juice of ½ lemon
2 chopped scallions
2 tablespoons tarragon leaves
3 anchovies
½ teaspoon each of kosher salt, more to taste
½ teaspoon pepper, more to taste

In a mini blender combine all the ingredients and blend. Thin out with a little water. Store in a glass jar.

Leave a Reply

